top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

    Mexico City - part II: La Roma

    Here we go again...Last weekend I was lucky to spend two days in my favorite Mexican city once again and I really had such a great time. I don’t want to complain about the city I currently live in – Puebla – but Mexico City has just so much more to offer. Whether it’s the cultural variety or gastronomical diversity, or simply the people living there – you have plenty of options and possibilities and you easily get inspired, which makes life a lot more livable.

    Saturday

    Stay

    This time, I decided to give Hotel Carlota a try, after checking out their Instagram and travel magazines such as the lovely Suitcase Magazine, a travel and fashion publication on the web/ quarterly print magazine. It really is a cool hipster place to stay, located centrally in neighborhood Cuauhtémoc, near Paseo de la Reforma. Just be aware that it can get VERY loud during evening/ night as they do their best to entertain all those party people hanging out near the pool area (If you want to catch some sleep before 2 or 3 am, I recommend earplugs or noise-cancelling headphones. But if you’ve been wandering all day long through the city as I did, you’ll easily fall in comatose sleep, haha). I also highly recommend their breakfast which was really delicious (think yum avocado toast with herbs or fruit/ granola bowls), made of mostly organic produce. They are pet friendly and their parking lot is free, too.

    Do

    Exploring la Roma was my plan on this weekend, especially for Saturday, so I compiled a list with places to visit ahead to not get too much lost in the streets of the quarter. Lucky me, as I found out some days ahead, el Corredor Cultural Roma Condesa took place this weekend, an event hosted twice a year with lots of great things to discover in art, fashion, design and gastronomy in the Roma Condesa area. I’m happy to share my impressions with you.

    First place to visit was the concept store Roma Quince, which has a lovely little Café/ Restaurant, Carlota y Emilia, where you can enjoy breakfast outside in an enchanted, small courtyard.

    The interior is absolutely beautiful, too. I was really hooked by this charming place and excited to discover more.

    Next, Blanco Colima was on the list, but on the way there, I ran into the pop-up store mini. They sell Mexican-designed, handmade products for kids, fashion, toys, also jewelry, cushions and all kinds of cute stuff. I couldn’t resist to buy some nice gifts for my girlfriend moms or moms-to-be and grabbed two adorable cups for myself.

    Located in Colima, across my way came some more nice places like Panaderia Rosetta.

    In Blanco Colima, a location with a cafe, bar and restaurant, where you can enjoy music and exhibitions, they hosted the pop-up market Dama Tiburón, offering fashion, jewelry and bags.

    Immediately, I fell in love with Tea & Tequila’s little sequined clutches having pineapples, avocados, melons or flamingos and cactuses on them – handmade of course. As you can imagine, two had to come with me...

    Next stop was the gallery Terreno Baldio, but their featured exhibition „Perros“ (dogs) I wanted to see was publicly installed at Plaza Luis

    Cabrera, so off to go there...

    I didn’t want to miss Mercado Roma, a place with lots of food counters and – how cool – a Macaron counter (Blanco Colima also sells Macarons, but seem to open very late or are not keen on selling either, haha). As I arrived there sometime in the afternoon, the Mercado was bursting with people eating and drinking (a bit too much for my taste) and after a quick walk through (or rather squeeze through) I wanted to leave as I don’t like overcrowded places at all.

    Eat

    In the afternoon, me and my plus one definitely needed a break to rest and recover. After visiting the Adidas Originals store in la Condesa, I wanted to head to Lardo, an inviting Italian restaurant I was curious to try. What a lovely place, feels like you’re right in Italy, which I really miss this time around here in Mexico. With every table occupied, we found a place at the bar, and what should I say, the atmosphere was just great, the staff super-friendly, the people interesting and food and drinks amazing. Will definitely come back here soon.

    For dinner, we had a reservation at Italian (but Mexican-inspired) restaurant Rosetta, which is located directly next to Blanco Colima, btw.

    Though at first glance the menu appeared a bit unconventional (probably because I didn’t understand half the dishes so I had to translate half the menu ;-)), we selected some really great dishes. Though Rosetta is among Latin America’s 50 best restaurants, I found prices really not overpriced (i.e. 110 Pesos which equals less than 6 Euros or around 6 Dollars for an exceptional herb salad appetizer with figs, pistachio, citrus and ricotta). Culinary speaking, it was an extraordinary experience, with dishes so well composed I suddenly wished I could live in D.F. instead of culinary less interesting Puebla. Also, the interior and architecture really is one-of-a-kind, so it was a very special evening for me and a crowning end of an awesome day.

    Unfortunately, I was too tired for checking out the bars, Romita Comedor or Gin gin were some of the places I actually wanted to drop by, though.

    Sunday

    Sunday was a mixture of a museum/ outdoor/ shopping day. Right after breakfast, we went to Chapultepec park, Mexico City’s green lung and one of the biggest city parks in the world.

    Here, you’ll find many of the city’s attractions and sights. Beside the Chapultepec zoo and botanical gardens, there are lots of museums such as the Modern Art Museum, Tamayo Museum and the National Museum of Anthropology. It’s a favorite place to go on a Sunday for the city’s inhabitants and tourists and it becomes pretty crowded during the day.

    After walking through the park and visiting the Modern Art Museum (didn’t blow my mind, one large painting of Frida Kahlo was stunning though), we went to Museo Jumex. The building and its architecture alone is worth a visit, the exhibitions are changing and ahem a bit special. Entrance was free in both museums, so you should take your time and go visit. The Antara mall was our last stop where I could take lots of photos of those picturesque umbrellas shining bright in many different colors.

    So many impressions in such a short time – for me, it was a perfect weekend escape, refilling on cultural and culinary shortcomings and getting new inspirational input.

    bottom of page